Skip to main content Skip to search
Exploring Hindu Indian emotion expressions: evidence for accurate recognition by Americans and Indians
Psychological Science
Short Title: Exploring Hindu Indian emotion expressions
Format: Journal Article
Publication Year: n.d.
Pages: 183-187
Sources ID: 22716
Visibility: Private
Zotero Collections: Contexts of Contemplation Project
Abstract: (Show)
Subjects were presented with videotaped expressions of 10 classic Hindu emotions. The 10 emotions were (in rough translation from Sanskrit) anger, disgust, fear, heroism, humor-amusement, love, peace, sadness, shame-embarrassment, and wonder. These emotions (except for shame) and their portrayal were described about 2,000 years ago in the Natyasastra, and are enacted in the contemporary Hindu classical dance. The expressions are dynamic and include both the face and the body, especially the hands. Three different expressive versions of each emotion were presented, along with 15 neutral expressions. American and Indian college students responded to each of these 45 expressions using either a fixed-response format (10 emotion names and "neutral/no emotion") or a totally free response format. Participants from both countries were quite accurate in identifying emotions correctly using both fixed-choice (65% correct, expected value of 9%) and free-response (61% correct, expected value close to zero) methods.
Zotero Collections